2020 Presteigne Digital

Presteigne Festival


Presteigne Digital 2020

As part of a number of musical alternatives to the COVID-19 stricken Presteigne Festival, Presteigne Digital, a series of specially-filmed mini-concerts, will be streamed via the Presteigne Festival website. The season will run from 24-27 August, with concerts added each day, being available to view for several months.

Featured performers include the Carducci Quartet, Amy Dickson, Christopher Good, Clare Hammond, Tim Horton, Mathilde Milwidsky, Bradley Smith, Oliver Wass and members of Nova Music Opera in repertoire which was to have featured at the 2020 Festival.

Six newly commissioned works wil receive digital premieres:
Martin Butler – ‘Body Electric’ for solo saxophone
Amelia Clarkson – ‘Through His Gaze: three songs for tenor and harp’
Ninfea Cruttwell-Reade (the Presteigne Festival’s first ‘Evolve’ composer) –
‘Reginald: The Musings of an Edwardian Gentleman’
Robin Haigh (RPS Emerging Composer)  – ‘No One’ for solo harp
Joseph Phibbs – Violin Sonata
Emma-Ruth Richards – ‘Tenebris Litterarum’ for string quartet

Other contemporary British pieces are also included alongside a wide range of music by Beethoven, Britten, Janáček and Schubert.

There will also be a supporting programme of three literary talks from three much-loved writers.

The full schedule will be published online in July.

Presteigne Festival, PO Box 30, Presteigne, Powys LD8 2WF
01544 267800